logo excellence
maggio 03, 2016 - Morgan

AR Motorsport Morgan Challenge 2016 – Silverstone

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. 

The second round of the 2016 #armotorsportmorganchallenge saw a 35 card grid at Silverstone as part of the VSCC Spring Start meeting on Saturday (23/4/16). With competitors and cars just about dried out from Snetterton two weeks previously, talk of snow and rain for the weekend was not welcomed. Fortunately the weather behaved and bright sunshine occasionally appeared through clouds, nicely warming up a typically windy Silverstone for the 20 minute standing start race.

  The Race 

Keith Ahlers qualified on pole position in his first #morgan Challenge meeting of 2016 with a 01:03:360 lap, 2 seconds ahead of fellow Class A Plus 8 racers Phil Goddard and Roger Whiteside. Winner of the first two races, Elliot Paterson, qualified in 4thposition to complete the front two rows of the grid.

The #morgan Challenge race was the penultimate race of the meeting, with the track slippery in a few places, the scene was set for an interesting race. An action packed first lap saw the front two break free whilst John Emberson and Dominic House were unfortunate to spin out, they were not to be the only casualties in the race but both regained positions and drove well to the finish. Keith Ahlers dominated from pole to claim a comfortable overall win, his first of many for the season no doubt. Phil Goddard finished in 2nd place with Elliot Paterson in 3rd to claim a hard fought Class B victory. Class B was hotly contested, with Elliot, Tony Lees and Tony Hirst all dicing for the lead over the first few laps. An unfortunate spin for Tony Hirst in the ARV6 caused him to lose a few positions and he pushed hard to retake 3rd from Simon Baines who was running well.

Driver of the day was awarded to Tony Lees, who drove a strong race with some exciting wheel to wheel #racing alongside Elliot Paterson and Tony Hirst, finishing hot on the heels of Class B winner Elliot.

Next up is a double header at Castle Combe on Monday 2nd May, with a televised race as part of the Motors TV #event. If Snetterton and Silverstone are anything to go by, Castle Combe should provide yet more great #racing for 2016.

Class Winners

Class A: Keith Ahlers
Class B: Elliot Paterson
Class C: Tim Ayres
Class D: Henry Williams
Class E: Chris Bailey
Class R: Kelvin Laidlaw

Filtro avanzato